Navigation

Showing posts with label MS Word. Show all posts
Showing posts with label MS Word. Show all posts

7/21/2019

Combining Word documents

  1. Place the cursor where you want the second document to be inserted
  2. From the Insert tab,  Text group, click on the down arrow next to Object and choose Text from file.
  3. Select the file to be inserted
  4. Click on Insert

From  U of Sussex

3/22/2019

Word: recovering lost files

Had a patron who closed a Word document without saving, but Autorecover was on:


For Word 2013 Users:
  1. On the File menu, click Open, and then click Recent Documents.
  2. Scroll to the end of all recent documents, and then click Recover Unsaved Documents.
  3. If you find the Word document that you are looking for, double-click it to open it.
  4. Save it immediately.

 https://www.easeus.com/

11/29/2018

Word 2016: transferring Autocorrect entries

AutoCorrect entries -- where are they kept in Word 2016?

%appdata%\Microsoft\Office\MSO1033.acl    just need to transfer that file from old PC to new one.


From answers.microsoft.com

Question:
Until today, I was using Word 2003; now I am using Office 2016. I have (yes, literally) thousands, perhaps tens of thousands, of AutoCorrect entries that I want to transfer into Word 2016. Entering them all manually would be a massive undertaking. I know where to find the .acl file that they were stored in for Word 2003. My problem is where to find the corresponding file for Office 2016.

Secondarily, I'm hoping I can simply copy the old .acl file to a new location. If it's now in a different format, that becomes a second problem. But let's start with the question of where the new .acl (or other extension) file is now kept. Is anyone here able to answer that question, I hope?

Answer:
No, you can't rename your .acl file to use with the AutoCorrect template. You would have to run the equivalent program for Word 2003 from http://www.word.mvps.org/FAQs/Customization/ExportAutocorrect.htm in order to get a backup document in the correct format.
You may be able to substitute your 2003 .acl file for the one created by Office 2016. I don't think the file format has changed, but I'm not sure of that. It's worth a try, though.

With all Office programs shut down, start File Explorer. Type or paste into the address bar the path

%appdata%\Microsoft\Office

(The "environment variable" %appdata% automatically expands to the hidden AppData folder in your Windows profile.)

In the Office folder, you should see a file named MSO1033.acl, which is the AutoCorrect file for English (US). If your default language is something else, in the following instructions you must substitute the one with the correct locale ID number.

Move the MSO1033.acl file to a different folder, so you can move it back again if the procedure doesn't work.

Now copy the old .acl file into the Office folder, using the same name as the file you moved out.

Start Word and/or another Office program and look in the AutoCorrect Options dialog. If you see the complete list of entries that you expect, you're in luck. Otherwise, bring the original Office 2016 .acl file back into the Office folder and start adding entries the hard way.

6/01/2017

Word: goto page number




Word allows you to move the insertion point to any page in your document by using the Go To command. To take advantage of this feature, follow these steps:
  1. Choose the Go To option from the Edit menu, or simply press F5. Word displays the Go To tab of the Find and Replace dialog box. (See Figure 1.)
  2. Figure 1. The Go To tab of the Find and Replace dialog box.
  3. On the left side of the dialog box, make sure that you indicate you want to go to a page (this should be the default choice).
  4. Enter the page number to which you want to move.
  5. Click on Go To, or press Enter.


word.tips.net

3/21/2017

globally remove hyperlinks in Word document

Need to remove all the hyperlinks in a Word doc:

How do I remove a hyperlink without losing the display text or image?

To remove a single hyperlink without losing the display text or image, right-click the hyperlink, and then click Remove Hyperlink.

To remove all hyperlinks in a document, press CTRL+A to select the entire document and then press CTRL+SHIFT+F9.

Note: Performing this operation converts all fields, not just hyperlinks, to plain text.


https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/291182/frequently-asked-questions-about-hyperlinks-in-word

3/14/2017

Turn off hyperlink creation in Word



To turn off automatic hyperlinks, follow these steps,:
  • In Microsoft Office Word 2010and 2013, follow these steps:  
    1. On the File menu, click Options.
    2. Click Proofing, and then click AutoCorrect Options.
    3. On the AutoFormat as you type tab and on the AutoFormat tab, click to clear the Internet and network paths with hyperlinks check box, and then click OK.
    4. Click OK to close the Word Options dialog box.


https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/291182/frequently-asked-questions-about-hyperlinks-in-word

8/03/2015

combining MS Word documents and tracking changes

Have user with 2 Word documents, want to combine the 2 versions, here are steps:



  1. On the Review tab, in the Compare group, click Compare.
    Word Ribbon Image
  2. Click Combine revisions from multiple authors.
  3. Under Original document, click the name of the document into which you want to combine the changes from multiple sources.
    If you don't see the document in the list, click Browse for Original Button.
  4. Under Revised document, browse for the document that contains the changes by one of the reviewers.
  5. Click More.
  6. Under Show changes, select the options for what you want to compare in the documents.
    By default, Microsoft Office Word shows changes to whole words. For example, if you change the word cat to cats, the entire word cats will show as changed in the document and not simply the character s.
  7. Under Show changes in, click Original document.
  8. Click OK.
    To change which documents appear on the screen when you click OK, in the Compare group, click Hide Source Documents or Show Source Documents.
  9. Repeat steps 1-8. Word will merge all of the changes into the original document.

Also see how to geek on comparing 2 documents.

7/23/2015

automated Word index

The vb script below will create an index of every word from a document,  (directions for setting up macros)




Sub ConcordanceBuilder()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Dim StrIn As String, StrOut As String, StrTmp As String, StrExcl As String
Dim i As Long, j As Long, k As Long, l As Long, Rng As Range
'Define the exlusions list
StrExcl = "a,am,an,and,are,as,at,b,be,but,by,c,can,cm,d,did," & _
          "do,does,e,eg,en,eq,etc,f,for,g,get,go,got,h,has,have," & _
          "he,her,him,how,i,ie,if,in,into,is,it,its,j,k,l,m,me," & _
          "mi,mm,my,n,na,nb,no,not,o,of,off,ok,on,one,or,our,out," & _
          "p,q,r,re,s,she,so,t,the,their,them,they,this,t,to,u,v," & _
          "via,vs,w,was,we,were,who,will,with,would,x,y,yd,you,your,z"
With ActiveDocument
  'Get the document's text
  StrIn = .Content.Text
  'Strip out unwanted characters. Amongst others, hyphens and formatted single quotes are retained at this stage
  For i = 1 To 255
    Select Case i
      Case 1 To 35, 37 to 38, 40 To 43, 45, 47, 58 To 64, 91 To 96, 123 To 127, 129 To 144, 147 To 149, 152 To 162, 164, 166 To 171, 174 To 191, 247
      StrIn = Replace(StrIn, Chr(i), " ")
    End Select
  Next
  'Delete any periods or commas at the end of a word. Formatted numbers are thus retained.
  StrIn = Replace(Replace(Replace(Replace(StrIn, Chr(44) & Chr(32), " "), Chr(44) & vbCr, " "), Chr(46) & Chr(32), " "), Chr(46) & vbCr, " ")
  'Convert smart single quotes to plain single quotes & delete any at the start/end of a word
  StrIn = Replace(Replace(Replace(Replace(StrIn, Chr(145), "'"), Chr(146), "'"), "' ", " "), " '", " ")
  'Convert to lowercase
  StrIn = " " & LCase(Trim(StrIn)) & " "
  'Process the exclusions list
  For i = 0 To UBound(Split(StrExcl, ","))
    While InStr(StrIn, " " & Split(StrExcl, ",")(i) & " ") > 0
      StrIn = Replace(StrIn, " " & Split(StrExcl, ",")(i) & " ", " ")
    Wend
  Next
  'Clean up any duplicate spaces
  While InStr(StrIn, "  ") > 0
    StrIn = Replace(StrIn, "  ", " ")
  Wend
  StrIn = " " & Trim(StrIn) & " "
  j = UBound(Split(StrIn, " "))
  l = j
  For i = 1 To j
    'Find how many occurences of each word there are in the document
    StrTmp = Split(StrIn, " ")(1)
    While InStr(StrIn, " " & StrTmp & " ") > 0
      StrIn = Replace(StrIn, " " & StrTmp & " ", " ")
    Wend
    'Calculate the number of words replaced
    k = l - UBound(Split(StrIn, " "))
    'Update the output string
    StrOut = StrOut & StrTmp & vbTab & k & vbCr
    l = UBound(Split(StrIn, " "))
    If l = 1 Then Exit For
    DoEvents
  Next
  StrIn = StrOut
  StrOut = ""
  For i = 0 To UBound(Split(StrIn, vbCr)) - 1
    StrTmp = ""
    With .Range
      With .Find
        .ClearFormatting
        .Text = Split(Split(StrIn, vbCr)(i), vbTab)(0)
        .Replacement.Text = ""
        .Forward = True
        .Wrap = wdFindStop
        .Format = False
        .MatchCase = False
        .MatchWholeWord = True
        .MatchWildcards = False
        .MatchSoundsLike = False
        .MatchAllWordForms = False
        .Execute
      End With
      Do While .Find.Found
        StrTmp = StrTmp & " " & .Information(wdActiveEndPageNumber)
        .Collapse (wdCollapseEnd)
        .Find.Execute
      Loop
    End With
    StrTmp = Replace(Trim(StrTmp), " ", ",")
    StrOut = StrOut & Split(StrIn, vbCr)(i) & vbTab & StrTmp & vbCr
  Next
  'Create the concordance table on a new last page
  Set Rng = .Range.Characters.Last
  With Rng
    .InsertAfter vbCr & Chr(12) & StrOut
    .Start = .Start + 2
    .ConvertToTable Separator:=vbTab, Numcolumns:=3
    .Tables(1).Sort Excludeheader:=False, FieldNumber:=1, _
      SortFieldType:=wdSortFieldAlphanumeric, _
      SortOrder:=wdSortOrderAscending, CaseSensitive:=False
  End With
End With
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub






From   microsoft.com Answers


3/16/2015

Printing from Apple OS: font size too small

Had a patron trying to print out a document in 12 point font, but printout was way too small, it turns out SCALE was less than 100% so it was shrinking everything.






Click on PAGE SETUP button, bottom left.


Make sure SCALE is 100%